State shuttle championship from today

The Li Ning Karnataka State badminton championship will commence here on Sunday at the Cha­mundi Vihar Indoor Sports Complex. 

The championship, which will see over 1500 participants across the State will be held for six categories- under-13, 15, 19, seniors and veterans. 

 The seniors category will include prominent players like Aditya R Prakash, Prakash Jolly, D Guruprasad, Vineeth Manuel, Daniel S Farid, GM Mischitha, V Ruth Misha, Varsha V Belwadi, Jacqueline Rose Kunnath while the Juniors category will see Mahima Aggarwal, Shikha Gautam, Ashwini Bhat, Mithula UK battling it out for the top honours. 

The under-13, 15 and 17 matches will be played from August 3 with the final on August 7. The under-19 section, along with the veterans, will be held between August 7 and 10. The championship carries a prize money of Rs 2 lakh. The matches will be played on seven newly-laid HOVA courts.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)