Rich harvest of sops for ryots

Rich harvest of sops for ryots

Chief Minister promises to withdrawcases against farmers

Rich harvest of sops for ryots

B S Yeddyurappa

Making the announcement in the Legislative Assembly, the CM referred to the talks he had with agitating farmers of Chamarajnagar District on Wednesday evening in Bidadi, and reiterated that the Deputy Commissioner and Superintendent of Police, Chamarajnagar would be transferred with immediate effect.

The two officials were responsible for lathi-charge on protesting farmers in the district.
The CM said he had assured farmers at Bidadi that the government would withdraw cases against farmers who staged dharna pressuring the government to fulfil their demands. The government would also request the Railways to withdraw cases it had booked against the farmers.

Yeddyurappa said his Government would introduce a measure to sanction compensation to farmers who lost stored grains or fodder in fires. A sum of Rs 1,000 would be given per acre with a ceiling of five acres.

Maternity expenses

The Government would also draft a policy to meet maternity expenses of poor rural women admitted to government or private hospitals.

Further, the CM said the Government would issue caste certificates with permanent validity, that could be used for any purpose. This would help in avoiding applying for caste certificate often, he said.

The other announcements of the CM included awarding additional marks to students excelling in sports.

Funds would also be sanctioned in the next budget for establishing a Neera Development Board.

Under fire from opposition parties for the police action against farmers, Yeddyurappa had on Wednesday declared a ban on lathi charge on farmers. "In future, there will be no lathi charge on farmers", he had told the Assembly.

The CM also said he had invited farmers to Bangalore for talks on December 26.

DC and SP transferred

The State government has, on Thursday, issued an order transferring Chamarajnagar Deputy Commissioner and Superintendent of Police Majoj Kumar Meena and T D Pawar respectively with immediate effect.

The Additional Deputy Commissioner and Additional Superintendent of Police of the district have been given the additional charge as the DC and the SP respectively.