Rohit, Sreesanth make return

Rohit, Sreesanth make return

Batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar opts out of tri-series in Bangladesh

Rohit becomes the beneficiary of Sachin Tendulkar’s decision to opt out of the tournament that also involves Sri Lanka and hosts Bangladesh.  Rohit, out of favour with the national selectors after a prolonged lean patch, has been recalled for the tri-nation series, mainly on the strength of his triple hundred against Gujarat in Ranji Trophy league match. There were doubts about Yuvraj, who aggravated his finger injury during the Cuttack game against Sri Lanka, recovering fully in time for the Bangla tournament, but the selectors have penciled in his name . Pragyan Ojha, who hasn’t got a single match during the Sri Lanka series so far, has been left out and leggie Amit Mishra replaces him in the squad.

A profligate Ishant Sharma makes way for S Sreesanth, who has recovered from the swine-flu he contracted prior to the Mohali T20, for the fifth one-dayer here on Sunday. He also has earned a ticket to Bangla series. Bengal’s Ashok Dinda has been named in the team for the final ODI in place of Praveen Kumar. Dinda, like Sreesanth, too has got a berth in the squad for the tri-series.  

Squads: Final ODI: MS Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Sudeep Tyagi, D Karthik, S Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, P Ojha.

Tri-series: MS Dhoni (captain), V Sehwag, G Gambhir, V Kohli, S Raina, Rohit Sharma, R Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer, A Nehra, Yuvraj Singh, S Tyagi, D Karthik, Sreesanth, A Dinda, A Mishra.