Meenakshi sets the pool ablaze on day two

Meenakshi sets the pool ablaze on day two

Aman clinches 200 free in a closely-fought race

Meenakshi sets the pool ablaze on day two

After settling for silver in the women’s 50M butterfly on the opening day of the All-India Inter-University Aquatics Championship, host Jain University’s Meenakshi VKR came back strong to pocket two gold medals on day two of the meet here on Monday.

The 18-year-old went on to top the podium in the women’s 200M freestyle and 400M individual medley, in which she also set a new meet record at the university’s residential campus here. Meenakshi rewrote the three-year-old medley record set by Pooja Alva of VTU, Belgaum, in 2011.

The local favorite faced no real challenge in her quest for gold as she went on to win the race in 5:21.13, four seconds ahead of the previous record set at 5:25.80. Her team-mate Poorva Shetye came a distant second at 5:41.35 while Anjana Mohan of Calicut University won the bronze, finishing in 5:43.56.

Earlier in the day, Aman Ghai and Jashandeep Singh made no mistake in leading the charge for their respective universities as the duo won the yellow metal in the men’s 200M freestyle and 50M breaststroke respectively.

Close fight

Guru Nanak Dev University’s Aman clinched the 200M freestyle in a closely fought race. Though Sanjay Raj of VNSG kept the Amritsar swimmer in check throughout the race, Aman came out winner with a with a timing of 2:00.61. Sanjay hit the touch pad in 2:01.43.

Yugesh Kumar of Madras University completed the podium at 2:02.43.In another fierce race, flag-bearer of the defending men’s champions Punjab University, Jashandeep, clinched his second gold of the meet after triumphing in the men’s 50M freestyle with a timing of 29.83 seconds. Pulkit from the Devi Lal University won the silver medal in 30.61, while Guru Nanak’s Aman won his third medal of the meet as he finished third in 31.34.

Results: Men: 50M breaststroke: Jashandeep Singh (Pun) 29.83 seconds, 1; Pulkit (Devi Lal) 30.61, 2; Aman Ghai (Guru Nanak) 31.34, 3.

200M freestyle: Aman Ghai (Guru Nanak) 2:00.61, 1; Sanjay Raj (VNSG) 2:01.43, 2; Yugesh Kumar (MAS) 2:02.11, 3.

400M individual medley: Arvind M (VTU) 4:45.86, 1; Viraj Dhokale (Savitribai Phule) 4:57.84, 2; Sanjay Raj (VNSG) 4:58.38, 3.

Women: 50M breaststroke: Poorva Shetye (Jain) 36.41, 1; Priyanka (Del) 36.81, 2; Divya Guruswamy (VTU) 38.14, 3.

200M freestyle: Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 2:15.09, 1; Sneha T (RGUHS) 2:17.15, 2; Sandhya S (KER) 2:19.05, 3

400M medley: Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 5:21.13, 1; Poorva Shetye (Jain) 5:41.35, 2; Anjana Mohan (CAI) 5:43.56, 3.

800M freestyle: Sneha T (RGUHS) 9:59.00, 1; Pratima Kollali (BAN) 10:03.46, 2; Poorva Shetye (Jain) 10:24.12, 3.

Diving: Men: High board: Gaurav Raghuwanshi (DAVV) 239.20, 1; Ketan Shinde (MUN) 205.15, 2; Udit Mishra (LUK) 178.30, 3.

Women: High board: Swati Vidap (SOL) 147.50, 1; Tanuka Dhara (CAI) 141.35, 2; Garima Kapoor (RMLNLU) 122.85, 3.