MEG emerge champions

Boxing State Championships : Engineering Group pugilists enjoy dominant outing; RBC second

MEG emerge champions
Madras Engineering Group (MEG) emerged overall champions in the State Boxing Championship held at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Wednesday.

On the third and final day, MEG pugilists dominated the proceedings, bagging gold in most of the categories. Ramanna Boxing Club finished runners-up.

In the mens’ senior light heavyweight category, MEG’s Durga Prasad took little time in beating Amaran of RBC to clinch the gold.

A calm Prasad proved too good for his opponent and began the bout in an aggressive fashion.  The MEG pugilist stole the show in the first round delivering solid punches. The second round too turned out to be a one-sided affair and a knockout punch resulted in the referee stopping the contest and deciding the bout in favour of Prasad.

In the senior girls’ 48-50 kg category, Sports Authority of Karnataka’s Teerthalakshmi prevailed in a hard-fought battle over Shilpa Kamath of Udupi District Amateur Boxing Association (UDABA). It was not a great start for Shilpa as she received a strong blow below her eye.

Not letting the early blow upset her rhythm, Teerthalakshmi brought her act together to exhibit nice mix of skill and character to edge out Shilpa.

Results (all finals): Men: Senior: Light flyweight: PL Prasad (MEG) bt Manivelu (SAK).
Flyweight: Ramana (MEG) bt Sreedhar (SAK).
Bantamweight: Silimarasan (MEG) bt Prince Sangha (SAK).
Lightweight: Rakesh (KARBC) bt Khaleem Khan (RBC).
Light welter: Virendar (MEG) bt Sanjay Patil (BDC).
Welter: Moorty (MEG) bt Nandhan (SAK).

Middleweight: Md Ali (MEG) bt Prince (RBC).
Light heavyweight: Durgaprasad (MEG) bt Amaran (RBC).
Heavyweight: Vijay Kumar (IBC) bt Amit Kumar (MEG).
Super heavyweight: Umashankar (RBC) bt Prabhu (IBC).
Junior: Light flyweight: Mirajmanjri (MEG) bt John (RBC)
Flyweight: Shanmugham Periyan (MEG) bt Anwar (SAK)
Bantam: Deepka Kumar (MEG) bt Lenin Patrick (KARBC)
Lightweight: S Karthik (BSC MEG) bt Ankit Sharma (MEG)
Light welter: M Srinivas (MEG) bt Pradeep (SAK)
Welter: Sahil (MEG) bt Prem Sai (SAK)

Middleweight: Clinton (RBC) bt N Jagadeesh (KARBC)
Heavyweight: Sumukh (RBC) bt Mohammed Danish (RBC)
Superheavyweight: Naveen Kumar (SAK) bt Siddarth Suresh (RBC).
Girls: Senior: 46-48 kg: Anju (SAK) bt Saniya (RBC).
48-50 kg: Teerthalakshmi (SAK) bt Shilpa Kamath (Udupi)
56-58 kg: Deepika (YS) bt Shreya Stella (SAK)
Sub-Junior: Monisha (SAK) bt Rachel (SBC); G Akshaya (SAK) bt SV Tanishka (KARBC). ; Ashlin Mary Cherian (IBC) bt Varshini (RBC).
Junior: Harshini (SAK) bt Anushreenayak (Udupi); Devishree (IBC) bt Ashriya Moses (KARBC).

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0