Operation JD(S) under progress

Operation JD(S) under progress

The JD(S), which had become a victim of Operation Kamala by the BJP at a few places in the State, has formulated an Operation JD(S) in the Hassan City Municipal Council (CMC) to unseat its own president.

The JD(S) members of the CMC have sought the permission of the Deputy Commissioner to move a no-confidence motion against president Srividya Ananda of their own party, here, on Thursday.

Eighteen JD(S) councillors, along with three Independents, met DC Umesh Kusugal in this regard and submitted a memorandum.

They said, they met the DC under the leadership of CMC vice-president Irshad Pasha and senior Councillor Sunil Kumar, following the directions from MLAs H D Revanna and H S Prakash.

JD(S) is the ruling party in the CMC with 19 members and hence Srividya was elected as president of the first half of the 30-month term. She should have resigned one month back as per the agreement to make way for Subha from the 30th Ward.

Srividya resigned one month back, but withdrew her resignation after two days as she had sought the support of Congress and BJP councillors to continue in the post. She has held meetings with District in-charge Minister Dr H C Mahadevappa and also Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who visited the city recently, in this regard.

As the JD(S) does not have the two third majority (24 in the 35 strong council), required to pass the no-confidence motion, the party leaders had said that they will cooperate with her to continue in the post.

Now, three Independents — Sameer Ahmed, Amir Jaan and Parvathamma — have signed the memorandum along with 18 JD(S) councillors (excluding Srividya).

Besides, the JD(S) is confident of getting the support of three Congress councillors to successfully pass the motion.

A JD(S) councillor, on condition of anonymity, said, three Congress councillors have already become incommunicado and will directly come to the CMC meeting to cast their votes. “Some more Congress councillors are also in touch with us. If Srividya is voted out, Subha will be president for 14 months,” he said.