Suspense over Kejriwal's Congress challenger

Suspense over Kejriwal's Congress challenger

The Congress’ third list of 15 candidates for the Assembly polls released on Thursday maintained suspense over Arvind Kejriwal’s challenger from the New Delhi seat. Six more names are still to be announced by the party.

Former Delhi minister Kiran Walia, who is keen to fight Kejriwal, is yet to figure among the list of 64 candidates announced by the party.

The third list included Sharmishta Mukherjee, daughter of President Pranab Mukherjee, and she will make her electoral debut from Greater Kailash seat.

Former Delhi transport minister Ramakant Goswami also did not find a place in the third list from Rajinder Nagar. Goswami, who lost the last elections, has been replaced by Brahm Yadav from the seat.

The Patel Nagar reserved seat, which former MP Krishna Tirath was keen to contest from, has been given to Rajesh Lilothia.  

Former legislators Veer Singh Dhingan and Vipin Sharma have been fielded from Seemapuri and Rohtas Nagar seats. Former MLA Malaram Gangwal will contest from Madipur and C P Mittal will fight from Hari Nagar. Madan Mohan has been fielded from Palam.

A number of new faces also figured in the party’s third list,.

Praveen Kumar Bhugra has been given the ticket from Narela while Mukesh Goel, leader of opposition in the North Corporation, has been fielded from Adarsh Nagar.

Jagdish Yadav will fight from Rithala. Anil Kumar has been nominated from Patparganj and Bansi Lal from Krishna Nagar while Rinku has been fielded from Gokalpur.