Sabina fights her way to gold

Last Updated 09 January 2010, 17:09 IST

Sabina, who had defeated Surabhi in the semifinals, posted a 7-6 win over Pinkumoni Handique of Assam in the final.
Aarti Khakal of Madhya Pradesh took home the gold in the 53 kg category prevailing over K Nanaocha Devi of CRPF 23-12.

In the men’s section, Naobi Singh of Manipur got past Sandeep Kumar of Services 13-11 to claim the 73 kg gold.
Surendra Bhandari of Assam outplayed Anit Arjun Bhagat of Services 7-1 to clinch the 63 kg gold.

The 54 kg title went to N Ibothe Singh Services who posted a 14-12 win over Sagar D Kopardekar of Taekwondo Federation of India.
Anil Yadav of Madhya Pradesh and Ajay Basfore of Assam settled for the bronze after losing in the semifinals.

Results, all finals:
Men: 74 kg: Naobi Singh (Manipur) 1; Sandeep Kumar (Services) 2; Arshad Hussain (Assam) and Saroj Gurung (Nagaland) 3.
63 kg: Surendra Bhandari (Assam) 1; Anit Arjun Bhagat (Services) 2; Vishwaketu Vaidya (Uttarakhand) and Raghunath Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 3.     
54 kg: N Ibothe Singh (Services) 1; Sagar D Kopardekar (TFI) 2; Anil Yadav (Madhya Pradesh) and Ajay Basfore (Assam) 3.     
Women: 46 kg: Sabina Sundas (Sikkim) 1; Pinkumoni Handique (Assam) 2; Jyoti Jangra (Haryana) and Surabhi Srinivas (Karnataka) 3.    
 53 kg: Aarti Khakal (Madhya Pradesh) 1; K Nanaocha Devi (CRPF) 2; Mokshada E Kalmetar (Maharashtra) and H Dolly Devi (Kerala) 3.

(Published 09 January 2010, 17:08 IST)

Follow us on