Kejri treats colleagues to home-cooked lunch

Kejri treats colleagues to home-cooked lunch

New CM welcomed by govt officials at Secretariat

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal treated his ministerial colleagues to a home-cooked lunch soon after arriving at Delhi Secretariat in central Delhi after the oath-taking ceremony at Ramlila Maidan.

Kejriwal reached the Secretariat at 1.20 pm and was welcomed by senior government officials. He was taken to the Chief Minister’s Office on the third level by Chief Secretary D M Spolia. 

Kejriwal was accompanied by Manish Sisodia, Gopal Rai, Satyendra Jain, Jitender Singh Tomar, Asim Ahmed Khan and Sandeep Kumar.

After a brief session of being greeted by senior government officials, Kejriwal and his ministerial colleagues had lunch and held discussions in his office.

The strategy of the government was discussed and allocation of portfolios was also done.

Earlier, Arvind  Kejriwal was scheduled to pay homage to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat between the journey from Ramlila Maidan to Secretariat. 

But the Rajghat visit was cancelled as Kejriwal was down with fever. The Cabinet meeting was also cancelled and rescheduled for Monday. 
As per the original schedule, Kejriwal would have reached secretariat at 2 pm and held the Cabinet meeting at 4.30 pm.

At 4 pm, the first press conference of the new government was addressed by Manish Sisodia. 

New portfolios

Giving details of the portfolios, Sisodia said Kejriwal has given him the position of Deputy Chief Minister and allocated the departments of Finance and Planning, Services, Power, Education, Higher Education, Information Technology, Technical Education, Administrative Reforms, Urban Development, Revenue, Land and Building and Vigilance and all other departments not specifically allocated to any minister.

The departments of Employment, Development, Labour, Transport and General Administration have been allocated to Gopal Rai, while the departments of Health, Industries, Gurdwara, Irrigation and Flood Control, Public Works Department and Power have been allocated to Satyendra Jain.

The departments of Law and Justice, Tourism, Art and Culture and Home have been allocated to Tomar, while Khan has been allocated the departments of Food and Supply, Environment and Forest and Election. 

The new departments of Women and Child, Social Welfare, Language and Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes have been allocated to Sandeep Kumar.

Apart from the allocation of portfolios, rooms in the Secretariat have also been allotted to the newly sworn-in ministers. 

Kejriwal will retain the Chief Minister’s room on the third level, while Sisodia will be available in room number 608 at sixth level. 

Rai will be in room number 708 at seventh level, Jain in room number 702 at seventh level, Tomar in room number 808 at eighth level, Khan in room number 802 at eighth level and Kumar in room numbers 701, 702, 703 and 705 at seventh level.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)