White hundred steers Australians home

Set a target of 275, Australia were off to a wobbly start when Pakistani bowlers snared three early wickets, but White and vice-captain Michael Clarke steadied the ship with a patient 100-run partnership.

White’s 105, which matched his best one-day score, contained four sixes -- three of them coming successively off Shahid Afridi -- and eight fours.

Shane Watson left early off the impressive Mohammad Aamer. Bowling at over 140 kph, the left-arm quick sent one short and Watson was caught off-guard as the ball flew off top of his handle and landed in safe hands of mid-on.

The hosts found their saviours in Clarke and White. Clarke brought his half-century off 58 balls while White followed suit notching up his 50 off 52 balls. Soon after bringing up their 100 partnership and with the total reading 186 for three, Clarke was run out stealing a quick single.

Earlier, Afridi’s late big-hitting helped Pakistan set Australia the challenging target. Afridi, following on his Australian domestic T20 form, hit 48 from 26 balls in a cameo that included three sixes and five boundaries after Salman Butt (72, 81b, 12x4) and Kamran Akmal provided a good start with a 61-run stand.



Butt c  Haddin b Bollinger    72
K Akmal c Clarke b Watson    34
Younis c Marsh b McKay    46
Yousuf b Bollinger    2
U Akmal c Haddin b McKay    23
Malik c Haddin b Watson    28
Afridi c Hussey b Watson    48
Aamer c Haddin b McKay    0
Rana Naved (not out)    8
Ajmal c Clarke b Watson    2
Asif (run out)    0
Extras (LB-4, W-5, NB-2)    11
Total (all out, 49.4 overs)    274
Fall of wickets: 1-62, 2-117, 3-123, 4-156, 5-205, 6-221, 7-227, 8-269, 9-274.
Bowling: Bollinger 9.4-0-37-2, Siddle 8-1-48-0, McKay 9-0-61-3, Watson 10-0-36-4, Hauritz 9-0-68-0, Clarke 2-0-8-0, Hussey 2-0-12-0.


Watson c Ajmal b Aamer    5
Marsh c Rana Naved b Asif    15
Ponting c Latif b Afridi    27
Clarke (run out)    58
White b Rana Naved    105
Hussey (not out)    35
Haddin (not out)    7
Extras (B-4, LB-10, W-9)    23
Total (for 5 wkts, 48.3 overs)    275
Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-37, 3-84, 4-186, 5-260.
Bowling: Asif 10-1-44-1, Aamer 9-0-29-1, Rana Naved 10-0-61-1, Afridi 10-0-66-1, Ajmal 9.3-0-61-0.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)