BBMP election process set in motion

BBMP election process set in motion

BBMP election process set in motion

Setting the process for the August 22 election of the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) in motion, commissioner G Kumar Naik issued the notification on Monday.

A calendar of events was released by Naik as an affirmation of the notification announcing the election dates issued by State Election Commissioner P N Srinivasachary on July 16.

The BBMP commissioner’s action has set at rest doubts about holding the polls and paved the way for 7.18 lakh voters to exercise their franchise at 6,733 polling stations. The polling will be held on August 22 and counting of votes will be on August 25. The last date for filing nomination papers is August 10 and the last date for withdrawals is August 13.

Election Commissioner Srinivasachary chaired a meeting, attended by Naik, Deputy Commissioner (Bengaluru Urban district) V Shankar, Commissioner of Police N S Megharikh, DCP(Central) Sandeep Patil and senior BBMP and revenue officials.

They discussed the strategy for holding a fair and peaceful election, sources said.

A large retinue of around 45,000 officials and policemen, four district election officers, 28 additional district election officers, 53 election officers and an equal number of additional election officers, 198 assistant election officers, 27 voter registration officers, 63 assistant voter registration officers, five special election observers, 27 election officers and 88 nodal officers will be involved in the election process.

On the first day of filing of nominations, five independent candidates, including B V Ramesh from Jayanagar East, filed their papers on Monday.

Three other independent candidates filed their nominations from Uttarahalli, Vijayanagar and Gandhinagar wards.