DY Patil move into title round

DY Patil move into title round

KSCA XI in control against Vidarbha in second semifinal

DY Patil move into title round

Dr DY Patil Academy prevailed in a low-scoring match against Haryana Cricket Association to enter the final of the Dr (capt) K Thimmappaiah memorial all-India invitational tournament here at the Alur (2) ground on Monday, with a still day’s play left in the semifinal.

In the other semifinal at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, KSCA XI all but ensured themselves a shot at the title after taking a 66-run lead against Vidarbha Cricket Association on the third and penultimate day of the match.

The hosts, in a way, should be disappointed with their effort, having resumed their innings at 238 for one, 114 runs behind Vidarbha’s first innings total of 352 all out. KSCA lost their remaining nine wickets while gathering 180 runs more. Overnight batsmen Abhishek Reddy, who was on 116, added substantially to his score before being dismissed for 167 (322b, 23x4, 2x6). His partner Pavan Deshpande, unbeaten on 93 on Sunday, duly completed his century (104) but perished soon after.

That the next best score was 46 from S Arvind reflected how badly the middle-order fared.

At close of day’s play, Vidarbha were 102 for six for a lead of just 36 runs. A Mithun caused the major problem for Vidarbha, picking 3/29.

DY Patil through
In a match dominated by bowlers from either side, DY Patil Academy batsmen gritted it out to pull-off a six-wicket win. After bowling out Haryana, overnight 129/9, for 138 in 59.1 overs in their second innings, DY Patil replied with 165/4 in 52.5 overs for what appeared a facile win in the end.

Brief scores: At M Chinnaswamy Stadium: Vidarbha Cricket Association: 352 all out in 102.2 overs and 102/6 in 32 overs (Shalab Shrivastava 48; Abhimanyu Mithun 3-29) vs KSCA XI (O/n: 238/1): 418 all out in 122.3 overs (Abhishek Reddy 167, Pavan Deshpande 104, CM Gautam 37, S Arvind 46; Swapnil Bandiwar 3-51, Ravi Jangid 3-89, Aditya Sarvate 3-89).

At Alur (2): Haryana Cricket Association: 221 all out and 138 all out in 59.1 overs (Iqbal Abdullah 4-51, Swapnil Singh 4-40) lt to Dr DY Patil Academy: 199 all out and 165/4 in 52.5 overs (Shoaib Shaikh 41, Kevin Almieda 27, Gaurav Jathar 40; Jayant Yadav 2-64).