Dikshanshu, batsmen lead Tigers' charge

Dikshanshu, batsmen lead Tigers' charge

Dikshanshu, batsmen lead Tigers' charge

 Leg-break bowler Dikshanshu Negi’s 4 for 9 and half centuries from opening batsman KB Pawan (55) and No 3 bat Kunal Kapoor (52) paved the way for Hubli Tigers’ 32-run win over the Rockstars in the Karnataka Premier League, here on Friday.

Batting first, Hubli Tigers scored a decent total of 154 for five in 20 overs.
In response, Rockstars were restricted to 122 for six.

The Rockstars showed a  semblance of a fight when opening batsman Rajeev hammered three fours and an equal number of sixes in his 23-ball 39.

 Wickets fell at regular intervals as spinner Dikshanshu Negi wove his magic to claim a stunning four for nine from his four overs.

Earlier,  the Tigers lost opener Mohammad Taha cheaply when the batsman dragged one from former India pacer David Johnson onto his stumps.

For the next 9.4 overs, Pawan and Kapoor made merry as they found the Rockstars attack to their liking, the pair knit together 81 runs for the second wicket.  As the pair looked set to help their team post a huge total, the Rockstars struck. The Tigers lost three quick wickets that of Kunal, Kranthi Kumar and Pawan, as the run-rate dipped.


Hubli Tigers: Mohammad Taha b Johnson 1, KB Pawan c Teja b Raghu 55, Kunal Kapoor b Teja 52, Kranthi Kumar c & b Joshi 5, Dikshanshu Negi (run out) 18, Sreenath Aravind (not out) 17, Nitin Bhille (not out) 4. Extras: (W-2) 2, Total: (for 5 wkts, 20 overs) 154.
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-98, 3-113, 4-117, 5-150.

Bowling: Sunil Joshi 4-0-16-1; David Johnson 4-0-31-1; C Raghu 4-0-29-1; Dhruva Sharma 2-0-21-0; Charan Teja 4-0-34-1; Adarsh Balakrishnan 2-0-23-0.

Rockstars: Raahul RK b Negi 4, Rajeev H lbw Negi 39, Sunil Joshi c Kapoor b Williams 10, Dhruva Sharma st Bhille b Negi 10, C Raghu (not out) 20, Raju Gowda lbw Negi 0, Charan Teja c Aravind b Naveen 0, Madan Mohan (not out) 31, Extras: (B-4, LB-1, NB-2, W-1) 8. Total: (For six wkts, 20 overs) 122

Fall of wickets: 1-44, 2-45, 3-61, 4-66, 5-66, 6-67.
Bowling: Santhabennur Akshay 4-0-33-0; S Aravind 4-1-20-0; Kranthi Kumar 1-0-10-0; Chetan Williams 4-0-30-1 B Naveen 3-0-15-1; Dikshanshu Negi 4-0-9-4.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)