Hectic lobbying on in CB Pur ahead of MLC, ZP elections

All three major political parties keen to contest

Political lobbying has gained momentum in Kolar and Chikkaballapur districts in the wake of the upcoming elections to the Legislative Council and taluk, zilla panchayats


The political parties are leaving no stone unturned to ensure victory in the elections. The elections to taluk and zilla panchayats are likely to be held in December.

The sitting MLC Nisar Ahmed represents the local bodies from Kolar and Chikkaballapur and will be completing his six-year term in December.

The aspirants are busy in influencing their leaders for a ticket. The Congress is keen on retaining its partyman as the MLC in order to consolidate its hold.

However, JD(S) and BJP are equally intent on securing the post. Thus, the MLC election has become a challenge for all the three parties and all of them have launched a search for a suitable candidate.

The leaders of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee have elicited the opinions of the legislators and the Lok Sabha member for the constituency in order to select a candidate. The JD(S) too has held consultation with its two legislators from the district and according to sources, BJP has not lagged behind in its efforts.

Choices before Congress
Farmers’ leader and Vokkaligara Sangha director Yaluvahalli N Ramesh is a strong contender for the Congress ticket. He had intended to contest the Assembly elections from Chikkaballapur last time, but was not given a ticket. It is said that he has sought an opportunity to contest MLC polls this time.

Similarly, former minister V Muniyappa who tasted defeat in the last Assembly elections, leaser G H Nagaraj too are in the race. The Congress leadership is said to be busy making the choice.

Aspirants in JD(S)
M Anjanappa, the former president of District Congress Committee is keen on contesting the elections.

He resigned from Congress after the party denied him ticket for the last Assembly elections. He is now the general secretary of the State JD(S).

He is said to have met the party leaders expressing his intention to contest the MLC poll. Apart from Anjanappa, JD(S) district unit president K V Nagaraj is also a strong contender. He had stayed away from the Assembly election fray last year, as former MLA K P Bachegowda had contested for the seat. It is said that film producer C R Manohar and Nanjegowda from Kolar have also been lobbying for the ticket.

The BJP list
Shivakumara Gowda, who unsuccessfully contested Assembly elections from Shidlaghatta is said to be in the race for the MLC elections. Similarly, BJP Backward Classes Morcha vice president Dr G B Manjunath of Chikkaballapur, Krishnareddy of Malur and two more from Kolar are also said to have lobbying for the ticket.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0