Carmel, Christ clinch top honours

Carmel, Christ clinch top honours

Aloka strikes winner for hosts in womens title clash against SJCC

Carmel, Christ clinch top honours

Mount Carmel College, winners in the women’s section of the Mercurial 2010 football tournament. STANDING (from left): Bhagya, Swathi, Riti, Hamsa, Meera Pai (PED), Shin Dong Hun (coach), Dolly (PED), Roshni, Tamara, Sanchitha, Diana. SITTING: Sophie, Aloka, Christina, Paulina, Samrudhi, Susan, Nikita, Senelda. DH PHOTOMount Carmel College defeated St Joseph’s Commerce College 1-0 to win the women’s title in the Mercurial 2010 football tournament at the Mount Carmel college grounds here on Wednesday.

The men’s title went to Christ University, after they got past St Joseph’s Arts and Science College 5-3 in the tie-breaker.

Mount Carmel, coached by South Korean Shin Dong Hun — a former ITI player — were clearly the better side in the women’s final.

Mount Carmel’s three-pronged attack of Aloka, Nikita and Senelda created chance after chance, leaving Joseph’s to soak up the pressure.

The only goal of the game came in the seventh minute, with an error by Joseph’s goalkeeper Niveditha setting up Mount Carmel nicely.

A routine collection turned awry as Niveditha stepped out of the 18-yard box, giving the Carmelites a freekick.

Senelda floated in the freekick from the left for an unmarked Aloka to head home from six yards out.

The second half belonged to Senelda. Showing why she is an U-21 player for Karnataka, she created several chances but failed to finish off the moves. Mount Carmel, however, held on to their one-goal advantage to emerge champions.

In the men’s section, the match ended goalless in regulation time, leading to the penalty shoot-out.

In the shoot-out Pradhan, Lokinder Singh, Abilash, Wanrap and Clivert scored while for Joseph’s Somishang, Mose OC Rodgers, Anup Theus Raj scored, while Johnny Frank failed to find the net, giving Christ victory.

Christ University, winners in the men’s section of the Mercurial 2010 inter-collegiate football tournament. STANDING: (from left): Srikanth, Antonio, Sanu, Clivert, Sooraj, Murali (coach), Prajwal, Abhilash, Sonam. SITTING: Wanrap, Danush, Harold, Dennis, Lokhendhar, Pradhan, Ananth. DH PHOTO

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)