Indonesia triumph

Badminton Asia Team Championships : Chinese women beat Japan to reign supreme
Last Updated 21 February 2016, 19:01 IST

China and Indonesia won the Badminton Asia Team Championships in the women and men’s categories respectively at the Gachibowli indoor stadium here on Sunday.

China defeated Japan 3-2 in the women’s category and Indonesia beat Japan 3-2 in men’s category in the two finals of the week-long tournament.

In the women’s finals held in the morning session, Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara gave a great start to her team with a 17-21, 21-16 and 21-15 win against China’s Shixian Wang.

Japan’s doubles pair of Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi continued their team’s winning streak with a 21-12, 21-16 victory over China’s Ying Luo-Qing Tian in the first doubles match of the five-match tie.   The fortunes of the Chinese team were, however, revived by Yu Sun, in the second Singles match with a 22-20, 21-19 win over Japan’s Sayaka Sato.

In the second doubles, China’s Yu Luo-Yuanting Tang trounced Naoko Fukuman-Kurumi Yonao of Japan 21-11, 21-10. In the final and decisive match, China’s Bingjiao He, who is ranked 31, humbled 16-ranked Yui Hashimoto to make her team the champions.

In the men’s final, Japan’s Kento Momota, ranked number four in the world, had an easy 21-17, 21-7 win against Indonesia’s Ihsan Maulana Mustofa.

Indonesia’s doubles pair of Angga Pratama-Rickey Karanda Suwardi defeated Japan’s Hiroyuki Endo-Kenichi Hayakawa 22-20, 14-21,  21-17.

In the singles match that followed, Indonesia’s Ginting Anthony, who is ranked 34, shocked Sho Sasaki 21-7, 21-16 to give a boost to his team’s chances. Sasaki, ranked 22 now, was a seasoned shuttler.

In the second doubles match of the tie, Japan’s Takeshi Kamura-keigo Sonoda beat Indonesia’s Berry Agriawan-Ryan Agung Saputra 21-16, 21-15.

With both sides having won two matches each, the final match (singles) between Kenta Nishimoto (Japan) and Christie Jonatan (Indonesia) became decisive.

Jonatan, ranked 36, dominated the last game as his side won the team championship. Jonatan secured a hard fought 14-21, 21-19, 21-13 victory against Nishimoto.

(Published 21 February 2016, 19:01 IST)

Follow us on