Swastic Union CC (2) emerge champions

Swastic Union CC (2) emerge champions

Half-centuries from Ashish Dhar and Yuvraj trumped Sahban Khan’s sparkling ton as Swastic Union Cricket Club (2) eked out a narrow one-wicket win against Modern Cricket Club on the last ball in the final of the KSCA Special Tournament (knock-out) for zonal champions and top six teams of Group I, Division II here at the Alur (1) ground.

Batting first, Modern CC posted a competitive 262 for eight in 50 overs. Sahban’s innings was the rock around which Modern built their total. The youngster’s 104 came off just 106 balls, including nine hits to the fence and three over it. Ankit Udupa (43) and Bhavesh Gulecha (40) made decent contributions.

Dhar (87) and Yuvraj (69 n.o.) shaped SUCC’s successful chase but not without its share of drama. That the win came off the final ball with the last pair of batsmen at the crease testifies the closeness of the contest.

Brief scores: Modern Cricket Club: 262/8 in 50 overs (Ankit Udupa 43, Bhavesh Gulechha 40, Sahban Khan 104; CA Karthik 2-41, Sridhar 2-53) lt to Swastic Union Cricket Club (2): 263/9 in 50 overs (Aquib Khan 32, Shubhang Hegde 34, Ashish Dhar 87, Yuvraj 69 n.o.; Bhavesh Gulechha 2-41, Kuldeep Kumar 2-54).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)