Assam BJP list of candidates out

Assam BJP list of candidates out

Assam BJP list of candidates out

The BJP on Wednesday evening announced names of 88 candidates for the ensuing two-phased Assembly polls in Assam.

The declared that it will contest 90 seats out of total 126 Assembly segments in the state. It has left 36 seats for the allies like the AGP, BPF and other parties.

Union Minister J P Nadda declared the list of the candidates after the BJP’s parliamentary board finalised it.

Among the 88 names of the candidates, prominent are the Union Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal who would contest from the Majuli constituency. He is BJP’s chief ministerial candidate in Assam.

The BJP has also decided to field its young leader from tea tribe community and MP from Jorhat Kamakhya Prasad Tasha against Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi in Titabar constituency. Tasha is seen as a good candidate against Gogoi who is eying chief minister ship for the fourth consecutive term.

Former BJP state unit president Siddartha Bhattacharjee would be contesting in the prestigious Gauhati East constituency.  BJP candidate list also includes heavy weights like former minister Atul Bora from Dispur, Manoj Baruah from Bhawanipur, Tapan Gogoi from Sonari, Dilip Paul from Silchar.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)