BSY packs new state BJP team with loyalists

BSY packs new state BJP team with loyalists

BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa on Thursday announced his new team of office-bearers giving priority to old-timers who have grown up in the party cadre. At the same time, Yeddyurappa has kept out those who are not on good terms with him.

In all, Yeddyurappa has appointed 10 state vice-presidents, 5 general secretaries and 10 secretaries. New chiefs have been appointed to 8 morchas.

The BJP office-bearers’ list mailed to media houses gave details of the district and caste of the new members, perhaps to drive home the point that representation has been given for all communities and geographical regions of the state.

Only a handful of office-bearers in the previous state president Pralhad Joshi’s team have been retained - these include C T Ravi and Nirmal Kumar Surana.

Two-time MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, known for his rapport with party workers, and former deputy chief minister R Ashoka do not find themselves in Yeddurappa’s team.

The duo, party sources point out, are not on good terms with Yeddyurappa.

A one-time Yeddyurappa loyalist V Somanna, known to be a good organiser, also does not find a place in the list. Among morchas, Lok Sabha MP Prathap Simha has replaced Muniraju Gowda as Yuva Morcha chief. Yeddyurappa loyalist and MLC J Puttaswamy is the new OBC Morcha chief.

Among those appointed vice-presidents include Surana, Ananth Kumar Hegde, B Sriramulu, P C Mohan (all MPs), Bhanuprakash (MLC). Ravi continues as state general secretary along with Shobha Karandlaje and Aravind Limbavali. ABVP senior functionary N Ravikumar has been appointed state general secretary. MLA Suresh Gowda,  former MLC Shankarappa, MPs Karadi Sanganna and Suresh Angadi are among the 10 secretaries appointed.