Sunrisers clinch IPL title

Sunrisers clinch IPL title

Warner's men dash RCB dreams

Sunrisers clinch IPL title

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s dream of winning their maiden Indian Premier League title remained just that – a dream.

Set an imposing target of 209, RCB appeared well on course for a famous victory after a fiery Chris Gayle (76, 38b, 4x4, 8x6) and a steady Virat Kohli (54, 35b, 5x4, 2x6) gave the home team the desired start, which saw them clobber 100 in nine overs. At 140/1 in 13 overs, it was RCB’s game to lose and much to the astonishment of the capacity crowd, they did just that.

RCB could only manage 200 for seven eventually as Sunrisers Hyderabad emerged eight-run winners to lift the IPL title. RCB, for whom it was their third final, had to return empty-handed once again.

Gayle’s sparkling knock that had the screaming spectators on the edge of their seats appeared to trump David Warner’s equally attacking 69 (38b, 8x4, 3x6), but the Sunrisers’ bowlers regained their composure to restrict RCB. While it was a tribute to RCB’s batting firepower that, in the end analysis, came within sniffing distance of overhauling the stiff target, Sunrisers’ attack once again proved why they have been rated arguably the best bowling unit in the league.

RCB’s bowling once again came apart at the crunch.  While poor ground fielding contributed to their misery, bowlers didn’t help their cause by doling out freebies. That they conceded as many as 51 runs in the last three overs turned out to be the difference between the two sides. 

RCB’s Shane Watson epitomised the bowling woes by giving away 61 runs in four wicketless overs, the most conceded by a bowler in an IPL final, surpassing the 54 conceded by Karanveer Singh for Punjab against Kolkata here in the 2014 final. Ben Cutting was named man of the match for his 15-ball 39 and two wickets.