Mayor, dy Mayor elections on Sept 28

Mayor, dy Mayor elections on Sept 28

BJP, JD(S) oppose addition of new Cong voters to electoral list

Mayor, dy Mayor elections on Sept 28

Elections to the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be held on September 28.

K R Pallavi, BBMP council secretary, who met regional commissioner and presiding officer of the mayoral polls M V Jayanthi on Wednesday, told DH that the revised calendar of events had been prepared. A notification in this regard will be issued on Thursday. Earlier, the election was scheduled for September 19.

Meanwhile, the BJP has objected to the addition of two more Congress MLCs to the electoral list. Congress members M D Lakshminarayana and A Ravi were added to the list. Both the BJP and the JD(S) have decided to stage a protest against the move in front of the BBMP office on Thursday.

The BJP has filed a criminal complaint in City Metropolitan Magistrate Court against including the two MLCs in the electoral list. The BJP has said that the new voters added to the list already have voting rights in other parts of the state. The complaint said that, to increase the number of its voters, the Congress has got Rajya Sabha members like Jairam Ramesh, Oscar Fernandes and MLCs like Ramappa Timmapur, N S Boseraju included in the electoral list.

With the new additions, the total number of voters in the mayoral polls has risen to 269, including 197 corporators. The magic number to rule the BBMP is 135. Presently, the BJP has 127 voters. The BJP is trying hard to seek the support of the JD(S), which has 23 members, to wrest the Palike. The Congress, in addition to seeking the support of the JD(S), requires the backing of independents to continue in power. This time, the Mayor’s post has been reserved for backward category ‘B’ (woman).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)