Students Union win

Students Union win

Students Union produced a dominating performance to beat Rail Wheel Factory (RWF) 3-1 in the BDFA Super Division league at the Bangalore Football Stadium here on Monday.

After a goalless first half, Students got into their stride in the second to overpower their opponents. Praveen broke the deadlock in the 50th minute and Nanda added another in the 58th minute before RWF’s Samanth reduced the margin with an effort in the 74th minute. But Michel put the game beyond doubt for SU with a strike in the 81st minute.

Earlier in ‘A’ Division, Nihal scored a hat-trick as Jawahar Union rallied twice from behind to edge past Parikrma 3-2.

After a drab first period, the game came alive in the second, which saw a flurry of goals being scored by both the teams.

Parikrma drew first blood through Chiranjeevi in the 48th minute but Jawahar immediately responded with a goal from Nihal in the 50th minute. But Thanmava again put Parikrma ahead in 58th minute. Refusing to back down, Jawahar soon restored parity through Nihal six minutes later.

In the 80th minute, Nihal completed his hat-trick to kill the contest. Results: Super Division: Students Union: 3 (Praveen 50th, Nanda 58, Michel 81) bt RWF: 1 (Samanth 74).

‘A’ Division: Jawahar Union: 3 (Nihal 50th, 64th, 80th) bt Parikrma: 2 (Chiranjeevi 48th, Thanmava 58th).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)