Sourabh clinches title

Sourabh clinches title

Sourabh Varma dashed Lakshya Sen’s hopes of becoming the youngest National champion as he scored a facile win in the men’s single final at the 81st Senior National badminton championships here on Tuesday.

The 21-13, 21-12 victory, which handed Sourabh his second title after having won it in 2011, means that 15-year-old Lakshya can now only equal legend Prakash Padukone if he wins the next edition, at which point he will be 16.

Rituparna Das eased to the women’s singles title after easing to a 21-12, 21-14 win over ninth-seeded Reshma Karthik.

Meanwhile, Satwik Sai Raj grabbed a double with wins in the men’s doubles and mixed doubles categories.

The 16-year-old first joined forces with Maneesha K in the mixed doubles final to triumph 21-14, 21-18 over Venket Gaurav Prasad and Juhi Dewangan.

In the men’s doubles title clash, Satwik and Chirag Shetty beat Nanda Gopal K and Sanyam Shukla 21-17, 16-21, 21-14.  

Results (all finals): Men’s: Singles: 3-Sourabh Varma bt Lakshya Sen 21-13, 21-12.

Doubles: 3-Satwik Sai Raj/ Chirag Shetty bt Nanda Gopal K/ Sanyam Shukla 21-17, 16-21, 21-14.

Women’s: Singles: 2-Rituparna Das bt 9-Reshma Karthik 21-12, 21-14.

Doubles: 3-Aparna Balan/ Prajakta Sawant bt Shikha Gautam/ Sanyogita Ghorpade 21-9, 21-11.

Mixed doubles: 1-Satwik Sai Raj/ Maneesha K bt 2-Venket Gaurav Prasad/ Juhi Dewangan 21-14, 21-18. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)