BJP holds reins in C'magaluru APMC

H S Kavish was on Thursday elected as the president of taluk agriculture Produce Marketing Committee (APMC). H P Rajiv was elected vice president.

Kavish, who represents Aldur seat, secured nine votes against Arenhalli Prakash who had to be content for seven votes. Rajiv from Ramanahalli seat who had also secured nine votes, defeated Sujeya Subrayagowda from Khandya by two votes. Gowda got seven votes in all. With this, BJP reigned supreme in 16-member APMC, with Kavish being BJP-supported candidate. Rival candidate Prakash is a Congress leader.

Tahsildar Shivanna also the returning officer announced the results. He was assisted by APMC secretary Chandrashekar and deputy director Parameshwarappa.

Local MLA C T Ravi accompanied by zilla panchayat member B G Somashekar, City Municipal Council member H D Thammaiah and other leaders congratulated newly-elected president and vice president.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)