Karnataka win third consecutive title

Karnataka win third consecutive title

 Karnataka edged Andhra on better net run-rate to emerge champions in the PS Ram Mohan Rao Trophy for the third straight time here.

Ahead of their respective final round-robin matches, both the sides were on same points (15) but Andhra were ahead on net run-rate.

Up against Goa in their last fixture, defending champions Karnataka bundled out their opponents for 192 in 42.2 overs.

Karnataka then needed to overhaul the target in 21 overs to bag the title by virtue of a better run-rate. Rohan Kadam, who had slammed two centuries before the game, played another vital knock of 74. Skipper KV Siddharth also played his part, slamming an unbeaten on 61, as Karnataka powered home in 19.3 overs, losing six wickets in the process.

Karnataka thus finished the tournament with four wins and one defeat. Hosts Andhra, meanwhile, settled for second place.

Brief scores (only Karnataka matches): Karnataka: 167 all out in 43.1 overs (R Prateeksh 96; Ashwath Mukunthan 4-25, R Sai Kishore 2-31, M Sharukh Khan 2-31) bt Tamil Nadu: 142 all out in 46.1 overs (Shahrukh Khan M 29, Kavin R 42; V Koushik 2-26, Vyshak Vijaykumar 4-44, Mitrakanth Yadav 2-20).

Karnataka: 312/6 in 50 overs (Rohan Kadam 157, Liyan Khan 69; Abhishek Mohan 2-47, Vinoop S Manoharan 2-61) bt Kerala: 273 all out in 48.3 overs (Abhay Jotin 36, P Rahul 68, Akshay Kodoth 31, Jithin Ramachandran 41; V Koushil 2-36, Mitrakanth Yadav 3.45, KV Sidharth 4-57).

Karnataka: 233/9 in 50 overs (Liyan Khan 41, Dinesh Borawankar 37, Sharath Srinivas 45, Zeeshan Ali Sayyed 31; Girinath Reddy 2-44, Kamaruddin 2-70) lt to Andhra: 234/6 in 48 overs (Girinadth UMS 58, Maheep Kumar 52, Girinath Reddy 52, Rohan Dass 35).

Hyderabad: 199/9 in 50 overs (E Jayaram Reddy 32, GA Shashidhar Reddy 38, D Lohit 25, Anuraag Haridass 55; Bhavesh Gulesha 2-31, Zeeshan Ali Sayyed 2-37, Mitrakanth Yadav 2-28) lt to Karnataka: 200/2 in 39.5 overs (Rohan Kadam 101, Liyan Khan 28, Shivam Mishra 47 n.o.).

Goa: 192 all out in 42.2 overs (Ishaan Gadekar 37, Rajat Shet 25, Mahesh Rao 43; V Koushik 2-32, Vyshak Vijaykumar 2-35, KV Sidharath 2-22) lt to Karnataka: 193/4 in 19.3 overs (Rohan Kadam 74, KV Sidharath 61 n.o.; Samitaryan 2-37, Mallik Sab Shirur 2-34).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)