Samarth guides Swastic to win

An all-round effort from R Samarth helped Swastic Union CC register a five-wicket victory over Jawans Cricket Club and enter the semifinals of the YS Ramaswamy Memorial tournament here.

Batting first, Jawans were spurred by a patient knock of 119 (158b) from S Nishant as they posted an ordinary total of 206 for eight in their 50 overs. K Shashank (3/41) and Samarth (2/28) did the damage with the ball for Swastic Union.

In response, Samarth’s 93 not out was the standout performance as Swastic Union strolled to the target with 5.3 overs to spare.

In another fixture, State team speedster HS Sharath backed his three-wicket haul (3/47) with a quick-fire 101 (70b) for Vultures Cricket Club but his efforts went in vain as Social Cricketers booked their last-four berth with a 17-run win.

Meanwhile, Akshay Chenniga  (5/26) claimed a five-wicket haul as Bangalore Occassionals also adavanced to the semifinals after beating Friends Union Cricket Club by 72 runs.

Batting first, Occassionals made a decent 274/8 in 50 overs.
In reply, GS Chiranjeevi, with 94 runs, led the chase for Friends Union CC before they were bundled out for 202 in 42.5 overs.

Brief scores: Quarterfinals: Jawans Cricket Club: 206/8 in 50 overs (S Nishant 119; K Shashank 3-41 , Samarth R 2-28) lt to Swastic Union CC (1): 207/5 in 44.3 overs (Samarth R 93 n.o.; Nishant S 2-28).

Bangalore Occassionals : 274/8 in 50 overs (Mir Kaunian Abbas 31, Abdul Majid 69, Naga Bharath 30, Mrunal MR 28, Avinash D 45, Nikith Sanganakal 25 n.o.; Deepak Poonia 3-57) bt Friends Union Cricket Club: 202 all out in 42.5 overs (Sri Krishna 27, B Akhil 34, GS Chiranjeevi 94; Avinash D 3-33, Anand D 2-36, Akshay Chenniga NS 5-26).

Social Cricketers: 247 all out in 50 overs (Bharath Chipli 26, Rakshith S 84, Ritesh Bhatkal 50; HS Sharath 3-47, Ronit More 2-42, Punith S 2-39) bt Vultures Cricket Club: 230 all out in 45.4 overs (HS Sharath 101; KC Cariappa 2-32, Ritesh Bhatkal 2-49, Kishore Kamath 3-46).

Mount Joy Cricket Club: 275/8 in 50 overs (Kiran AM 98 n.o., Deepak Chougule 30, Sharan Gouda 32; Rohit Kumawat 2-54, Vikas 2-35) bt Malleswaram Gymkhana: 186 all out in 42.4 overs (Sadiq Kirmani 49, Shivayogi 29, Faizan 33 n.o.; Sharan Gouda 2-24, Anil IG 2-44).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)