Bypolls for Nanjangud, Gundlupet on April 9

Bypolls for Nanjangud, Gundlupet on April 9

Bypolls for Nanjangud, Gundlupet on April 9

Bypolls for two assembly constituencies - Nanjangud and Gundlupet in Karnataka, will be held on April 9.

The Central Election Commission announced the calendar of events on Thursday. March 21 is the last day for filing nominations. Scrutiny of nominations will be held on March 22 and last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 24. Counting of votes will take place on April 13.

Bypoll to Nanjangud seat was necessitated following the resignation of sitting MLA V Srinivas Prasad.

Prasad resigned in protest against his dropping from the Siddaramaiah cabinet. He later joined the BJP and is contesting from the seat on the saffron party’s ticket.

Gundlupet seat fell vacant after the death of sitting MLA H S Mahadeva Prasad. Prasad, who was co-operation Minister in Siddaramaiah cabinet, died after a heart attack.

The model code of conduct in the two constituencies came into force on Thursday.
The Commission also announced by-elections to three Parliamentary constituencies and 10 other assembly seats.

Bypolls to Srinagar (JK) LS seat will be held on April 9 while  Anantnag (JK) and Malapuram (Kerala) LS seats will face bypolls on April 12. Malapuram seat fell vacant following the demise of IUML leader E Ahamed.

Jaya’s seat
The assembly bypoll in Radhakrishnan Nagar seat in Tamil Nadu, which fell vacant after the death of then Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, will be held on April 12.

Among the assembly seats going to bypolls are Delhi's Rajouri Garden. It fell vacant after Jarnail Singh of AAP decided to contest the Punjab assembly polls held last month. The byelection for the seat is on April 9.

Anantnag seat fell vacant in June last after Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti won the assembly polls and resigned from the Lok Sabha. Srinagar LS seat was vacated by former PDP leader Tariq Hamid Karra, who had resigned in protest against alleged "brutalities" on Kashmir protesters.