Bypoll results of Nanjangud, Gundlupet constituencies today

All eyes are on the results of byelections held to Nanjangud and Gundlupet Legislative Assembly constituencies.

The counting of votes will be held on Thursday. The bypoll was necessitated in Gundlupet (Chamarajanagar district) after Cooperation Minister H S Mahadev Prasad passed away in January.

In all, seven candidates are in the fray, including Congress candidate M C Mohanakumari (wife of Prasad) and BJP candidate C S Niranjan Kumar. In Nanjangud (Mysuru district), the contest is between BJP candidate and former minister V Srinivas Prasad and Kalale Keshavamurthy of Congress. 

The district administrations of both Mysuru and Chamarajanagar have made elaborate arrangements including tight security for counting of votes. Prohibitory Orders under
Section 144 of the CrPC will be in force within a radius of 500 metres of the counting centre from 6 am on Thursday till 6 am on Friday.
DH News Service

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0