Day of reckoning

Counting to take place simultaneously in 29 centres

Day of reckoning

The counting will begin at 29 centres in 27 places from 8 am onwards. As many as 53 returning officers, with each counting centre for four to five wards, will  break open the seals of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

However, the counting of votes for wards Nagawara (Ward no. 23), HBR Layout (24), Banasawadi (27), Kammanahalli (28), Kacharakanahalli (29), Kadugondanahalli (30), Lingarajapuram (49) and Maruthiseva Nagar (59) would start at 2.30 pm.
The BBMP sources said the results of some of the wards may be declared by 9 am to 9.30 am while results of others will be declared by 2.30 pm
to3 pm.

Equipped with about 3,500 officials, the BBMP is fully geared up for the D-Day.

Elaborate security
“We have made elaborate arrangements for people to know the results as quickly as possible,” said a  BBMP official. Designated officers at counting centres will fax the result sheets every half-an-hour to the IT department of the BBMP,
which will scan it and upload it to websites, and People can log into these websites to check results.

The media centre at the BBMP’s head office will provide  updates on election results by entering name of the candidate and the party.
Security around the BBMP head office and the counting centres have already been beefed up to avoid any untoward incident after the declaration of the results.
“Unscrupulous  elements will not be let inside the BBMP office,” the official added.
DH News Service

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0