Vidyashilp reign supreme

Vidyashilp reign supreme

Vidyashilp reign supreme
Vidyashilp Academy emerged champions of the Centenary Shield hockey tournament (seniors) here at the hockey stadium on Wednesday.

In the final, Vidyashilp produced a clinical performance to outclass Baldwin Boys High School 2-0.
Goals from Rohith Manjunath (8th minute) and Adithya Ranjit (9th) in the first period settled the tie in Vidyashilp’s favour.

Earlier, St Joseph’s Boys High School claimed the top honours in the Fr Eric Vaz memorial tournament (juniors), with 5-2 drubbing of Vidyashilp in their summit clash.

Aditya Athreya opened the scoring for Vidyashilp in the 2nd minute but Dhanush Shane netted the equaliser for St Joseph’s four minutes later.

Soon after, strikes from Varun Muthappa (8th) and Vishnu KS (9th) within a space of two minutes put St Joseph’s ahead. Tanush D’souza (25th) then found the back of the net to further increase their tally.

However, Aditya struck again the 27th minute to reduce the deficit for Vidyashilp. But Muthappa had other plans as he completed his double in the 38th minute to take the game away from Vidyashilp.

The Vidyashilp-Baldwin ga­me started at a frenetic pace wi­­th Vidyashilp pressing for a breakthrough from the word go.

The constant pressing soon yielded results as Rohith, finding himself in plenty of space inside the circle, managed to slot the ball in past Baldwin’s goalkeeper Fravin.

A minute later, an error from Fravin allowed Vidyashilp to double their advantage.  The stopper’s attempted dive to his left to save a weak effort from Adithya, who beat his marker to get inside the circle, fell well short of his intended target, as he could only watch the ball roll into the net.

Baldwin came out a different side after the break but could not break Vidyashilp’s stubborn backline.

DH News Service

Results (all finals): Centenary Shield: Vidyashilp Academy: 2 (Rohith Manjunath 8th, Adithya Ranjit 9th) bt Baldwin Boys’ High School: 0.

Fr Eric Vaz memorial: St Joseph’s Boys’ High School: 5 (Dhanush Shane 6th, Varun Muthappa 8th, 38th, Vishnu KS 9th, Tanush D’souza 25th) bt Vidyashilp Academy: 2 (Aditya Athreya 2nd, 27th).
DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)