Panchayat polls on May 8 and 12

Panchayat polls on May 8 and 12

Election will held to 5,476 GPs for 88,245 seats; counting on May 17

The elections will be held in 16 districts, including Bangalore, on May 8 and in the remaining districts on May 12. Counting of votes will be taken up simultaneously for both  phases on May 17. Addressing a press conference, State Election Commissioner C R Chikkamath said the model code of conduct will come into effect from April 15 till May 18.

The poll code will be applicable in the limits of all gram, taluk and zilla panchayats. The model code of conduct will not be applicable in the jurisdiction of the Bhruhat Bangalore Mahanagare Palike (BBMP), corporations, city municipal councils, town municipal councils, and town panchayat, he said.

It is going to be a massive exercise indeed, a sort of mini-elections that will test the pulse of rural masses across the State. Of the total 5,626 gram panchayats, polls will held to 5,476 gram panchayats for 88,245 seats, as the term of 150 gram panchayats is yet to expire.  

A whopping 2.51 crore electorate will exercise their franchise. While panchayat elections are not contested on party ticket, all major political parties have already started backing their candidates. Being grassroots-level polls, a firm foot hold is essential for any political party in the gram panchayats to achieve success in the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections.  The gram pamchayat members elected in the present polls will hold office when the polls to the 14th State Legislative Assembly and 16th Lok Sabha are held.

BJP preparation

Buoyed by the recent success in the BBMP polls, the BJP has already started preparation for the panchayat elections by holding conventions in different parts of the State.