Parties gear up to woo voters for GP polls

Parties gear up to woo voters for GP polls

 While BJP is trying to extend its influence in rural areas too, Congress and JD(S) leaders are chalking out plans to maintain their hold in rural GPs.

Kadur Taluk has maximum number of GPs and voters. There are 1,69,661 voters in 59 GPs in the taluk. Victory in the taluk is a prestigious matter for Congress leader K M Krishnamoorthi and JDS leader H D Deve Gowda. Analysts opine that as Krishnamoorthi is undergoing treatment at a hospital in Bangalore, JDS leader Y S V Datta may use the opportunity to win majority in the taluk.

In Tarikere, the Bhadra Upper Canal Action Committee is all set to use election as a tool to reflect their demands. Farmers here are unhappy that the government did not keep their words regarding the development of Amrit Mahal Kaval. However, many of the Congress leaders, who should have fought against the injustice, are in BJP now.

In Chikmagalur taluk, a triangular fight between BJP, Congress and JD(S) is expected. While Congress has domination in Malnad, JD(S) and BJP have influence in other regions. Congress was successful in bagging MLC seat by making tie-up with JD(S) in the recently held election.

The political tactics and the visible development works of Sringeri MLA D N Jeevaraj would be a favourable factor for BJP supported candidates in Malnad.

BJP may suffer setback in N R Pura, Koppa and Sringeri as the government had failed in opening milk routes in the taluks. Meanwhile, BJP blames the Hassan Milk Federation, which is in JD(S) hands, for the failure in opening milk routes. BJP leaders charge that the JD(S) leaders are politicising the issue intentionally.

In Mudigere taluk, women play the lead role in the election. While the number of male voters here is 34,699, the number of female voters is 34,962.

The problems like naxal menace, delay in coffee package announcement, arecanut yellow leaf disease and other local issues also will be prominent subjects for debate during election.  Leaders of BJP, Congress and JD(S) unanimously assert that their party will be the winner in the election.