KSRTC bus stand to make way for UG Metro station

KSRTC bus stand to make way for UG Metro station

Operation of BMTC buses from KBS will not be affected

Transport Minister R Ashok told reporters in Bangalore that 20 acres in possession with KSRTC would be handed over to Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (BMRCL). After construction of the Metro station, 13 acres would be returned to the KSRTC.

The tendering process for construction of the underground metro station will start on April 23.

Alternative bus stations would come up at NGEF’s land on Old Madras Road, Shantinagar, Mysore Lamps, Kengeri and Travel and Transit Management Centre (TTMC) at Yeshwanthpur. The detailed schedule is yet to be finalised, the minister said.

The operations of the Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) buses at Kempegowda Bus station (KBS) will remain unaffected.

Meanwhile, BMTC will launch ‘Disciplinary week’ from April 24. As many as 300 Home Guards, police officials and department officers will monitor the promptness of BMTC services across the City.

Besides, the officials will interact with commuters and collect suggestions and complaints if any.

Buoyed with the good public response to the introduction of government bus service in Mangalore-Udupi stretch, hitherto monopolised by private players, the government will replicate the model in other pockets in the state.

“We will give private players healthy competition,” he said and added that the government-run transport companies will soon chalk out a schedule of new routes across the State. The entire process would be streamlined in a year.

Private buses without permit will not be allowed to ply on national highways and notified routes, he said.

The minister informed that the government will soon purchase 1,000 buses, including 60 Volvo buses, to augment its KSRTC fleet. The government has purchased 2,800 buses during the last two years, he said.

Ashok said the government will soon call tenders for issue of security number plates for vehicles as mandated by the Centre and the Supreme Court at the earliest.