Andhra, Mumbai qualify for knockouts

Andhra, Mumbai qualify for knockouts

Andhra, Mumbai qualify for knockouts

Andhra and Mumbai posted wins over Gujarat and Goa to qualify for the national knockout phase of the Vijay Hazare Trophy from Group 'C' here on Monday. While Andhra trounced Gujarat by nine wickets to notch up their fifth straight victory, Mumbai won their fourth game to make sure of advancing.

K S Bharat with an unbeaten 106 (132 balls, 4X4, 4X6) and Ashwin Hebbar (99, 108 balls, 11X4, 2X6) helped Andhra steamroll Gujarat reaching the target of 251 in 45.2 overs. Meanwhile, Mumbai rode on half-centuries by Surya Kumar Yadav (71), Prithvi Shaw (53) and captain Aditya Tare (59) to post a four-wicket win over Goa.

Chasing Goa's score of 266 for 8, Mumbai secured the win in the 47th over as the top-order got going. Shaw, who led India to a memorable triumph in the under-19 World Cup in New Zealand recently, put Mumbai on track with a well crafted half-century. He was involved in two important partnerships, first with Jay Bista for 64 runs and then with Surya Kumar (90 runs).

The young right-hander hit six fours and a six in his innings of 53. Surya Kumar then forged a 52-run stand with Tare, who scored an almost run-a-ball 50. Earlier, identical scores of 56 by former IPL star Swapnil Asnodkar and Suyash S Prabhudessai helped Goa make 266 in 50 overs.

In the day's other match, Team Rajasthan thumped Madhya Pradesh by seven wickets.

Brief scores (in Chennai): Group 'C': Gujarat 250 all out in 50 overs (R H Bhatt 74, Piysh Chawla 56, Parthiv Patel 39; I Karthik Raman 4-32) lt to Andhra: 251/1 in 45.2 overs (K S Bharat 101 n.o., Ashwin Hebbar 99). Andhra: 4 (20) points; Gujarat 0 (4) point.

Goa: 266/8 in 50 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 56, Suyash Prabhudessai 56, Darshan Misal 34; Dhrumil Matkar 3-49) lt to Mumbai: 267/6 in 46.3 overs (Surya Kumar Yadav 71, Aditya Tare 59, Prithvi Shaw 53; Lakshay Garg 3-52). Mumbai: 4 (16); Goa: 0 (8).

Madhya Pradesh: 241/9 in 50 overs (Harpreet Singh Bhatia 55, Anand Bais 51, Ankit Sharma 65; Syed Khaleel Ahmed 3-51) lt to Team Rajasthan: 245/3 in 47.2 overs (Aditya Garhwal 108, Mahipal Lomror 51 n.o.). Rajasthan: 4 (8); Madhya Pradesh: 0 (12).

In Hyderabad: Services: 176  all out in 48.2 overs (Soumik Chatterjee 52; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 4-26) lt to Saurashtra: 181/2 in 21.4 overs (Samarth Vyas 114 n.o., Cheteshwar Pujara 45 n.o.). Saurashtra: 4; Services: 0.  

Jharkhand: 288/9 in 50 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 107, Kumar Deobrat 51; Pankaj Rao 4-43) lt to Chhattisgarh: 294/3  in 46 overs (Amandeep Khare 76, Shashank Chandraker 61, Manoj Singh 54 n.o., Vishal Kushwah 40 n.o.). Chhattisgarh: 4; Jharkhand: 0.

Hyderabad: 312 all out in 50 overs (Rohit Rayudu 130, BP Sandeep 72; Umar Nazir 5-52) bt Jammu & Kashmir: 163 in 34.1 overs (Akash Bhandari 3-34). Hyderabad: 4; J & K: 0.  


Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox