BPCL regain crown

BPCL regain crown

SAIs Tharun Thammanna adjudged best player

BPCL regain crown

Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited pose with the Super Division trophy in Madikeri on Sunday. DH Photo

BPCL thus finished the tournament with an all-win record, scoring seven victories from as many matches to notch up 21 points. Army Red ended runners-up with 18 points while IOCL were third at 13 points.

Needing just a point to clinch the trophy that they surrendered to IOCL in the last edition, BPCL seemed to be in a spot of bother early in the second-half but staged a superb fightback to walk away victorious.

After a fruitless first half, Karan put IOCL in the lead after sounding the board in the 37th minute to inject much-needed excitement into the big clash. BPCL’s Sher Singh then brought the contest on an even keel, striking in the 41st minute.

Jarnail Singh finally laid the icing on the cake, scoring in the 43rd minute to seal another fine come-from-behind win for BPCL.

Tarun Thammanna, who netted a brace in Sports Authority of India’s 4-1 defeat of Army Green earlier in the day, walked away with a TVS Apache after being adjudged the Player of the Tournament.

Results: SAI: 4 (Nithin Thimmaiah 37th, 43rd, Aiyappa MB 44th, Muddappa 45th) bt Army Green: 1 (Birsy Bhengra 41st); Army Red: 3 (Rajesh Lakra 3rd, Elizer Lakra 38th, Jerome Kujur 51st) bt Fortis: 2 (Lalith Upadhya 17th, Muthanna 61st); BPCL: 2 (Sher Singh 41st, Jarnail Singh 43rd) bt IOCL: 1 (Karan 37th).
Player of the Tournament: Tarun Thammanna (SAI).