A tie-up with BSP might help JD(S) in Mudigere constituency

A tie-up with BSP might help JD(S) in Mudigere constituency

A tie-up with BSP might help JD(S) in Mudigere constituency

Among the five assembly constituencies in Chikkamagaluru district, Mudigere is a reserved constituency.

The JD(S) has already announced the sitting MLA B B Ningaiah as its candidate, while the BJP and Congress are yet to announce their candidates. There is a triangular fight in the constituency.

Mudigere assembly constituency comprises nine hoblis of Kasaba, Gonibeedu, Banakal, Balooru, Kalasa, Ambale, Mallandooru, Avathi and Aldoor. There are 230 polling stations. The constituency had seen
D B Chandre Gowda, D K Taradevi Siddarth, Motamma as its MLAs in the past.

There are 1,66,888 voters in the constituency, of which 84,262 are women voters. MLC Motamma, her daughter Nayana Jyothi Jawar, Hovappa, Nagarathna are aspirants from Congress.

Former MLA M P Kumaraswamy is a strong ticket aspirant from BJP. Deepak Doddaiah, Sringeri Shivanna, Banakal Shamanna, B S Chaitrasri,
D Dharmaiah are also aspirants from the BJP.

In the last election, B B Ningaiah had won with a margin of 635 votes only. This year, the JD(S) has the support of BSP as well.

Though a majority of the roads are concreted and the work on the bus shelter has been completed in the constituency, the demand for taluk status to Kalasa still remains unfulfilled. Further, Horticultural University at Handpost has not been materialised.

Tribal activist Vijendra said, "The roads have been concreted in tribal haadis. There is a lack of basic facilities at Pyatehithlu, where the Thathkola reserve forest dwellers were shifted. The demand for a polytechnic college and PG centre has not been fulfilled so far."

Writer Halekote Ramesh said that there are no projects for empowering youth in the constituency.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily