Two more Bills passed amid din

With the protesting leftist MPs staging a sit-in-demonstration in the well of the House and demanding apology from Bandopadhyay; the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions (Amendment) 2009 and Energy Conservation (Amendment) Bill 2010 were put to vote and passed. The BJP MPs protested the way the Bills were passed without any discussion.

The LS had also passed three Bills – Payment of Gratuity (Amendment) Bill 2010, Employees State Insurance (Amendment) Bill 2009 and the Clinical Establishment (Registration and Regulation) Bill 2010 – without discussion on Monday, as the MPs of the AIADMK and other opposition parties created ruckus over alleged corruption in allocation of 2G Spectrum.
“This is murder of democracy,” the BJP MPs, led by Gopinath Munde and Shah Nawaz Hussain, shouted slogans as the Bills on minority educational institution and energy conservation were passed without discussion on Tuesday.

Speaker Meira Kumar requested the Left MPs to maintain order in the House, but they did not relent.
DH News Service

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)