India, Korea share Azlan Shah crown

India, Korea share Azlan Shah crown

India, Korea share Azlan Shah crown

Indian skipper Rajpal Singh (left), Arjun Halappa and Korean Kim Yong-bae with the trophy. Reuters

The final was abandoned after six minutes of play as heavy showers lashed the turf. India had lost only one match, against Malaysia, en route to final.

This is the first time in the history of the tournament, which began in 1983, that there has been joint winners.

Indian defender Sardar Singh was adjuged the best player of the tournament.
The Indian team management, when called by the FIH Tournament Director Paul Richards, expressed the desire to be given the winners trophy since they had topped the seven team round-robin league with 13 points as well as having beaten the Koreans 3-2 at that stage.

However, it was decided to give the winners cup to both teams, which gave India their fifth title and the Koreans their second. India had made six appearances in the final of the tournament and ended on the victorious side on four occasions in 1985, 1991, 1995 and 2009.

World champions Australia scored a hard-fought 5-3 victory over Malaysia to take third place.

Mathew Swann (34th), Russel Ford (43rd), Kieran Govers (50th), Christopher Ciriello (54th) and captain Grant Schubert (65th) scored for Australia while Haffihafiz Hanafi (14th), Amin Mohd Rahim (48th) and Tajudin (70th) found the target for the hosts.