HC vacates stay on Bishop Cotton principals' transfers

HC vacates stay on Bishop Cotton principals' transfers

The Additional City Civil and Sessions Court on May 15 had stayed the transfer of principals till the disposal of their petition. Justice B Manohar vacated the stay following an appeal by the School Management Committee. The two principals were issued transfer orders by Bishop Vasanth Kumar on May 7 with a direction to handover charge by Friday evening.  

Cubbon Park police have registered a criminal case against the Bishop in pursuance of the orders of the fourth ACMM Court on the charge of misappropriation of school funds for personal gain.

Land recovery okayed

A Division Bench of the High Court has dismissed a petition challenging recovery of land by the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) at Sarakki and Banashankari second stage.

The appellants, D S Vijayalakshmi and D S Mamatha, had challenged the single judge order dismissing their claim over the sites. They had moved the High Court challenging the demolition by BDA stating that they had khatas in their name and the sites were allotted way back in the 80s.

Vijayalakshmi submitted that she had put up a shed at her site since she was short of funds to construct a house while Mamatha claimed that she had purchased her site from a person by name Radha. The BDA authorities denied allotment of sites contending that the duo had fabricated the documents.


The High Court  also dismissed a petition challenging the acquisition of land by the Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) for its metro rail station at South End circle.

The petitioners, Zakirunissa and others, had moved the High Court challenging the acquisition stating that their land was not included in the original alignment.  Alleging that the BMRCL changed the alignment to favour some vested interests, the petitioners had sought directions to BMRCL to go by original alignment.

The BMRCL, in its submission, said that the alignment was changed following the expert advice, considering the traffic flow and other factors.

The Division Bench comprising Justice V G Sabhahit and Justice B Manohar dismissed both the petitions.