Students get a 'kick' out of DH soccer quiz

Last Updated 09 July 2010, 19:55 IST

Organised as part of Deccan Herald in Education (DHiE) initiative, the event saw 82 and 76 teams participating in the school and college categories respectively.

In both categories, eight teams qualified to the finals out of the respective numbers. The State Bank of Mysore was the main sponsor, while Nilgiris sponsored the refreshments.
From Lev Yashin, the ‘Black Spider’, to Thomas Alva Edison from whom legendary Pele got his first name (Edson), or  the football match that saw El Salvador go into the infamous ‘Football War’, the questions had many a participants on the edge of their seats – screaming was strictly barred though.

Coinciding with the FIFA World Cup, which has the City’s Gen Y going gaga anyway, the football gyaan was probably enough to motivate the participants to turn up, the organisers however, also sent them home with attractive prizes.

In the school category, the winners took away a pair of Kodak Digital Cameras worth  Rs  5,000 each, the runners-up, a pair of Apple iPODs worth Rs 3,500 each and the third price winners got a pair of Titan wrist watches worth Rs 1,900 each.

The remaining five teams who made it to the finals also received MP3 players worth Rs 750 each as consolation prizes.

Similarly, in the college category, the prizes were a pair of Nokia mobiles worth Rs 9,500 each, Kodak digital cameras worth  Rs 7,500, DVD player worth Rs 5,500 for the first, second and third prizes respectively. There was no change in the consolation prizes.
While, Nishchay Singh and Gautam from the National Centre For Excellence took away the first prize in the school category, Army Public School’s Malaika N and Karthik Nambiar, and Presidency School’s (R T Nagar) K Purujit Ponnappa and Mueez Ahmed bagged the second and third prizes.

National Law School’s Varun Rajiv and Raghuram Cadambi won the first prize in the college category, while Praveen Koushik and Nishanth N from BMS College of Engineering won the second prize, with R V College of Engineering’s Rahul Gupta and Vineet Raj took away the third prize.

(Published 09 July 2010, 19:36 IST)

Follow us on