QBR to arrive in State on Sept 1

Top athletes for baton relay

The baton will arrive in Karnataka from Tamil Nadu on September 1 and will be received by Karnataka Olympic Association President K Govindaraj at Chamrajnagar. The KOA chief would then hand it over to Sports Minister Goolihatti D Shekhar who would then present it to award-winning athletes from the State.

“Karnataka is really proud and happy to stage the baton relay,” said Shekhar at a press conference on Thursday to announce the route map of the relay.

“All Arjuna, Dronacharya and Ekalavya awardees have been invited to be a part of the relay. The relay will also be accompanied by cultural programmes and the total cost for the seven-day relay is Rs 35 lakh.”

From Chamrajnagar, the baton will reach Mysore on the same day before leaving for Bangalore on Sept 2 at 10.00 am in the morning. Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa will receive it at the Sree Kanteerava stadium at 3.30 pm and hand it over to Olympian Kenneth Powell and badminton legend Prakash Padukone.

The baton will then make a three-hour journey through the City’s hotspots before returning to the Kanteerava stadium. The organisers have also made a provision for public viewing of the baton as well as a photo opportunity on Sept 2 from 9.30 am to 3 pm.

The baton will leave for Hassan on the morning of Sept 4 where it will be kept overnight before travelling to Mangalore the following day. The baton will touch base at Karwar on Sept 6 and leave for Goa on the morning of Sept 7.

Meanwhile, Shekhar also said the list of Ekalavya awardees for the year 2009 will be announced on Friday.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)