SC confirms death sentence to 3 AIADMK men

SC confirms death sentence to 3 AIADMK men

3 students were killed in the arson following Jayalalithas conviction

SC confirms death sentence to 3 AIADMK men

A bench comprising Justices G S Singhvi and B S Chauhan confirmed the death sentence awarded by the Madras High Court in 2007 after hearing the arguments of both prosecution and defence lawyers.

High Court ruling
The Madras High Court had confirmed the death sentence to the three accused—Nedunchezhian, Ravindran and C Muniappan— on December 6, 2007.

The appellants had said that the Madras High Court judgment confirming the capital punishments did not fall in the category of “rarest of rare” cases and they were entitled to the exception of grave and sudden provocation as their leader J Jayalalithaa was being persecuted to settle political scores.

More than 2,000 AIADMK workers, while protesting against the conviction of former state chief minister Jayalalithaa in a criminal case, had torched a bus carrying the three victims — Kokila Vani, Gayathri and Hemalatha — along with 44 other students and two teachers.  
On February 16, 2007, a trial court at Salem had awarded death sentence to them and also awarded various levels of sentences to 25 others.

According to eye-witnesses, the incident happened suddenly and no description of the people involved in the actual torching of bus had been given by them, the petitioners said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)