Kundan Vyas elected new INS president

Kundan Vyas elected new INS president

The new office-bearers were elected at the 71st Annual General Meeting (AGM) of INS here on Friday. Apart from Vyas, K N Tilak Kumar, Deccan Herald Editor , was elected as the Vice-President of the INS.

Ashish Bagga from the India Today group, who was earlier the Vice-President took charge as the Deputy President, while Rakesh Sharma from the Hindustan Times, Patna, retained his post as the honorary treasurer of the Society for the second consecutive term.

The AGM, which saw the participation of representatives from most print media houses, elected its Executive Committee members for the financial year. A 41-member executive committee comprising representatives from major print media houses was constituted.

In his address, the outgoing president of the Society, Venkattram Reddy said: “Our industry has sailed through the recession phase without much damage.” Reddy thanked the Government for taking note of the industry’s problems during the challenging times of recession.

“The removal of customs duty on newsprint and stimulus package and adhoc increase in DAVP tariff saved many publications in the small and medium category, who operate on a very fragile margin, from closure,” he said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)