Cooperative Week: ‘Sahakari Ratna’ award for 5

Cooperative Week: ‘Sahakari Ratna’ award for 5

M B Devaiah

District Cooperative Union A K Manu Muttappa said that five persons who have made remarkable contribution to the cooperative sector will be conferred ‘Sahakari Ratna’ award during the All India Cooperative Week.

Addressing reporters here on Wednesday, he said that the district-level ‘Sahakari Ratna’ award for 2018 will be conferred on Muddanda B Devaiah and Usha Tejaswini who have served the cooperative sector for 42 years and 36 years respectively.

The taluk-level awards will be conferred on Boppera Kaverappa of Madikeri, Karnanda Somaiah of Virajpet and M N Kumarappa of Somwarpet.


He further said that a seminar will be held at the Town Cooperative Bank in Virajpet on November 15. Also, programmes in this connection will be held at Banashankari Samudaya Bhavana, Hebbale on November 16 and at Vighneshwara Kalyana Mandira in Shanivarasanthe on November 17.

The Cooperative Week will be observed at primary agricultural credit cooperative society in Mayamudi on November 18, Primary agricultural credit cooperative society in Karugunda on November 19.

A programme will be held at Kodagu District Central Cooperative Bank in Madikeri on November 20.

The programme scheduled on November 14 at primary agricultural credit cooperative society has been postponed to November 21, he added.

District Cooperative Union directors Ramachandra, Mukkatira Prema Somaiah, Nandineravanda Ravi Basappa and Union CEO Yogendra Nayak were present at the press meet.