BJP GP members quit, join Cong

BJP GP members quit, join Cong

BJP Belve and Madamakki gram panchayat members, who had recently quit the party, have joined Congress in Kundapur.

About hundred members quit the BJP as they were disappointed with the party leadership over fielding Haladi Srinivas Shetty to contest Kundapur assembly constituency.

They joined the Congress in the presence of district in-charge K Bava and Congress candidate for Kundapur assembly constituency Rakesh Malli.

The members who joined include Madamakki gram panchayat president Raju Kulal and Belve gram panchayat former president Uday Kumar Poojary.

Poojary said the BJP workers were fed up with Haladi and his administration. The constituency remained underdeveloped. Unless voters decided to vote against Haladi, the constituency would never be developed, he added.

Earlier, the BJP district president Mattaru Ratnakar Hegde had said the resignations would not have any major impact because the members who resigned were not popular and were not vote seekers.

"It is not a major loss and in no way will affect the BJPs victory margin in the constituency," he added.