Kishore Kumar award for Yash Chopra

The award, which carries a cash prize and a traditional shawl, was given to Chopra by Madhya Pradesh Cultural Minister Laxmikant Sharma at an investiture ceremony held yesterday at Kishore's birthplace Khandwa in the state.Wednesday was the singer's 23rd death anniversary.The award, instituted in 1997, is given away for direction, acting, script writing and lyrics every year. Past recipients of the award included Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Gulzar, Shyam Benegal and Amitabh Bachchan.

Chopra fondly recalled his association with Kishore and appreciated the work done by the Madhya Pradesh government in the singer's honour.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)