DC court dismisses plea by temple committee

Last Updated 16 March 2019, 17:49 IST

The DC Court has said that there is no necessity of a separate 19 member committee to organise the Ashtabandha Brahmakalashotsava at Bhagamandala-Talacauvery temple. The ritual is held in the temple once in 12 years.

Members of a separate Brahmakalashotsava Samiti headed by M B Devaiah submitted a plea to the DC’s Court in 2017 to allow them to organise the Brahmakalashotsava in the temple.

The applicants were M B Devaiah, M A Nanaiah, M B Kumar, C G Satish, K Ramesh Muddaiah, B A Ramesh Changappa and K Fancy Ganapathy.

Deputy Commissioner Annies Kanmani Joy has dismissed the appeal stating that the temple is headed by the administrative committee formed by the government.

As per the Muzrai Act, there is no separate committee for Ashtabandha Brahmakalashotsava. The administrative committee is constituted in adherence to the government regulations.

According to the rules, the car festivals, temple fair and any other special celebrations in the temple will be organised by the administrative committee.

“The 19 member committee is null and void. Moreover, if there are two committees for the same purpose, it will create confusions,” said the DC’s order.

It has been observed that the current management committee has the provision to invite suggestions from the general public and devotees.

(Published 16 March 2019, 17:43 IST)

Follow us on