Parliament paralysed for 12th day

Last Updated 06 September 2012, 07:47 IST

Uproar over coal block allocation issue paralysed proceedings of Parliament for the 12th consecutive day today, drowning most of the Monsoon Session which ends tomorrow.

As soon as Parliament met for the day, BJP members were on their feet in both Houses and raised slogans demanding Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's resignation over the coal block allocation issue.

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha were adjourned till noon after opposition triggered ruckus on the issue. Members of the DMK, AIADMK, CPI and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) were in the Well raising the Sri Lanka issue.

When the Lok Sabha met again at noon, BJP members trooped into the Well and demanded that the Prime Minister tender his resignation. Congress and BJP members shouted slogans against each other.

DMK members were opposing the training of Sri Lankan military personnel in India, while AIADMK and VCK members protested the upcoming visit of Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa to India.

Minister of Housing and Poverty Alleviation Kumari Selja introduced the Street Vendors (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of Street Vending) Bill, 2012, amid the din. The House was then adjourned for the day. Uproarious scenes were witnessed in the Rajya Sabha soon after it reassembled at noon with SP members rushing to the Well against reservation in promotion for SC/ST employees in government jobs and the BJP members were on their feet on the coal issue.

As protests continued, the House was adjourned till 2 PM.

Strong objections were also made by V Maitreyan (AIADMK) on the absence of External Affairs Minister S M Krishna who was to reply on his Calling Attention Motion on the situation arising out of repeated attacks on Tamil Nadu fishermen by Sri Lankan Navy.

When the issue was raised two Ministers of State for External Affairs - E Ahamed and Preneet Kaur - were absent from the Upper House. Deputy Chairman P J Kurien also asked, "Where is the Minister?"

Amid din, Kurien announced taking up of the Calling Attention Motion. Maitreyan who was shouting "No Minister, no Minister," rushed to the well.

SP members led by Naresh Agrawal, also raised their pitch shouting "Promotion mein aarakshan nahin chalega (No reservation will be allowed in promotion)," even as marshals were deputed near the Chair to prevent any untoward incident.

While BJP members were on their feet seeking the Prime Minister's resignation on the coal issue, party member Tarun Vijay did not put the short notice question.

Earlier, when the Lok Sabha met for the day, Speaker Meira Kumar took up the Question Hour after making an obituary reference to the victims of the fire tragedy in Sivakasi.
After observing silence for a while, BJP members trooped to the Well raising slogans against the PM.

The Rajya Sabha proceedings also began with obituary reference to Sivakasi victims.
Soon after, the House the plunged into turmoil as BJP members shouted slogans demanding resignation of the Prime Minister. Some SP members were up on their feet but they could not be heard in the din.

Chairman Hamid Ansari tried to restore order in the House and called for the first listed question but BJP members were unrelenting. He then adjourned the House till noon. 

(Published 06 September 2012, 05:52 IST)

Follow us on