7 things to know about Telangana elections

Telangana Caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao's decision to dissolve the state assembly and call for early elections had garnered mixed response in the country.

This move seems to have turned positive for the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), as the party is headed towards victory.

Here are a few interesting things about the Telangana assembly elections:

1. A total of 119 constituencies of Telangana went to polls on December 7. 1821 candidates contested in the polls. It had recorded a voter turnout of 73.20 per cent.

2. All polling surveys predicted TRS's victory. This is the first state polls for Telangana since its bifurcation from Andhra Pradesh.

Read :  Telangana Assembly Elections results: TRS set to retain power 

3. On December 10, leaders from Praja Kootami, who contacted Governor ESL Narasimhan, said, "If no party gets majority in the state, give us the opportunity to form the government in the state, as we formed the alliance before the elections."

4. The key players in the state of Telangana are KCR-led TRS, the Congress-led four-party People's Front, BJP and MIM.

5. Exit polls had predicted a win for K Chandrashekar Rao.

6. In 2014, when the state was formed, TRS won a simple majority in the House winning 63 seats, while the Congress won 21 and TDP 15, AIMIM 7, BJP 5 and independents won 5 seats.

7. Congress President Rahul Gandhi had called TRS as the “ ‘B’ team of BJP and KCR is the rubber stamp of Modi."  


10 things to know about the Mizoram elections

10 things to know about Madhya Pradesh elections 

7 things to know about Telangana elections

Rajasthan Assembly Election Results: 8 things to know 

Chhattisgarh: 5 things you should know


Results 2018: Raj, C'garh, MP to Cong

Results an Opposition lesson as people want change

Results 2018: BJP's MP lead; Raj, C'garh to Cong 

Cong confident of forming govt in Rajasthan: Pilot

Comments (+)