BJP, Cong give 'zero' to AAP government

BJP, Cong give 'zero' to AAP government

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress took a united stand on Saturday in giving the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government ‘zero’ marks even as Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his team will mark a year in office on Sunday.

Leader of Opposition in Delhi Assembly Vijender Gupta said he will write to the Centre to dismiss the Kejriwal government over spate of “unconstitutional” notifications in the last one year. He said the BJP will launch a fortnight-long programme to expose Kejriwal government on its first anniversary.

The Congress also took a similar stand with the BJP. “I will give zero mark to Kejriwal government because I cannot give it minus marks,” Delhi Congress chief Ajay Maken said, adding the first year of AAP government was marked by its “conflict” with the Centre. The BJP also released a list of 52 notifications by the Delhi government, alleging that it did not seek Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung’s approval, even though the Centre controls law and order and land-related issues.“Kejriwal directed his officials not to send the files relating to all subjects other than the transferred subjects to the office of the Lt-Governor,” he said, adding it was a “breach of constitutional mandate”.

Delhi BJP president Satish Upadhyay said his party will celebrate Virodh Diwas at Jantar Mantar on Sunday. The party also released a campaign song to target Kejriwal government for its “unfulfilled” promises. “Kejriwal is a dream merchant as he has failed to deliver on his poll promises to the people of Delhi. We will stage protests in different areas against the government till February 28,” said Upadhyay while addressing a news conference alongside Gupta and local BJP leaders. He accused the chief minister of inviting confrontation with the Centre and other agencies to divert focus from their governance. 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)